DUI is one of the most burdensome offenses an otherwise law abiding person can face. It is a serious infraction with extremely complex consequences. If you have been arrested for DUI, you likely have many pressing questions like:
- Will you lose your driver's license?
- Are you facing jail time?
- Can you beat the charge?
- Were the police justified in stopping you?
Under any circumstances, a DUI arrest can have a significant impact on your life. This is especially true in Pennsylvania, where, in 2004, the DUI statutes where substantially revised and harsher penalties imposed. Under the current law in PA:
- You may be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol level is .08%
- A minor may be charged with DUI if their blood alcohol is .02%
- If you refuse to take a breath, blood or urine test after being arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania, your license will be suspended for a period of not less than 1 year and a 3 days mandatory incarceration. An appeal of the suspension must be made within 30 days of your receiving the notice of suspension from the Department of Transportation.
- The penalties for a conviction for a repeat offender can mean substantial jail time and the loss of civil rights.
If you are charged with DUI it is very important that you contact an attorney immediately. I have represented clients in DUI cases throughout Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Bucks and Philadelphia Counties and am very familiar with all the intricacies and nuances involved with DUI offenses. I can help you through the process with the goal, if possible, of helping you to keep your license, stay out of jail and, if appropriate, go to trial and prevail.